top of page

I have a yellow sticky note (new audio recording!)

Recently, I had the opportunity to attend an online performance of Spoken Word Poet Phil Kaye. His performance inspired me to share some of my own poetry in a new way--through audio. I found that there is a great difference when the audience reads poetry in their heads, compared to how the poet might read it out loud. This inspiration gave me the courage to start posting some of my poetry, and include audio recordings to help me become comfortable with sharing my work with an audience. I am excited to see where this new idea and inspiration takes me as a writer.



I have a yellow sticky note.

It's blank right now.

It's stuck on my wall, above my desk.

Whenever I am bored, I draw a smiley face.

Each looks different.


I have a yellow sticky note.

It's half full.

I look at it while I work at my desk.

Whenever I am sad, I draw a smiley face.

None are the same.


I have a yellow sticky note.

It's almost full.

When I see it, I feel hope.

Whenever I am happy, I draw a smiley face.

They are all unique in some way.


I have a yellow sticky note.

It's full of little smiley faces.

The yellow helps me remember the meaning:

hard days will soon be better; hopelessness won't last forever.

Each smiley face represents emotion:

the good, the bad, and all in between.

The sticky note helps me keep my head up.

The sticky note helps me smile.


I have two yellow sticky notes.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page