top of page

Little Box of Treasures



As I pack my chest of treasures

my mind wanders far

wondering if one day

I'll remember what it was for


will I ever unpack this small box

and go through the memories it holds

will I read these cards and letters

when I am wrinkly and old


will I remember all the memories

I, right now, hold dear

will I ever read these poems

I wrote with flowing tears


will I see this box of treasures

and think it all as junk

or will I see the things I cherished

and pack them safer in a trunk


these pictures that I am saving

of the true friends that I adore

will their faces be forgotten

will the old jokes be no more


there is a photo-box high upon a shelf

packed with things I hold dear

letters of heartache

and letters of deepest fears


crumpled manuscripts of stories

secret poems of heartfelt words

trinkets won at fairs

and origami birds


I hope this box of treasures

will remind me of life past

the good, the bad, the happy, the sad

cause life tends to go by fast

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page